FEO1 the final entry color altered photo…eeuuww

By: frugalhorn

Feb 20 2013

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:6mm
ISO:80
Shutter:1/0 sec
Camera:DMC-FZ5

The final decision was that flare to put on this horn, Salvage the original flare, which was in really rough shape or use another flare for the betterment of the horn. By betterment I mean tone color and quality. Personally, I prefer brass horns to NiSi horns. In my college days I played on my 800,000 series 8d, but now, about 50 years later have come back to the brass side. Yes, there was a time when I sat aside my brass Chambers model and honked on an 8d….eeuuww. So… ta-dah!… an old brass Chambers model flare was chosen.  It was also taken from a horn because of a tiny tear near the ring set and has sat in my pile of spare flares for several years. FEO1-7-7I decided to use it because my Michigan Badge would cure the tiny tear. The State’s northern most part (aside from Isle Royal) is the Keweenaw Peninsula. It’s the little point on the northern peninsula that is near touching the ring set. Under it is the tiny tear, about 3mm in length. NOW PATCHED!  The rest of the Michigan badge is just that, a Badge. It is copper because, at one time, Michigan was known as the “Copper State”. We had good reserves of raw copper and it’s pretty FEO1-7-9well gone now…. For you Michigan buffs you note that the southern state line is incorrect. the little jog at the Indiana /Ohio line is not cut in. It’s easier to cut straight across and there are times when I use the straight bottom adjacent to, say, the top of a ring set….Lord knows there are enough small nibbles made to get the shape of Michigan.FEO1-7-3The other ‘design’ decision made was to go with “Olds” brass valve covers to counter balance the brass at the flare.FEO1-7-12Note how high the FEO1’s bell brace sits compared to the ringset. I think you could even fit a Yamaha 667 set, which is lighter and smaller in diameter on the flare and still miss the bell brace. This flare could not be used because the original ringset cut was not for a Yamaha ringset.FEO1-7-4So, it’s done, time to sell it, probably on eBay, so that a family/kid/re-emergent adult player can have a good horn to play and love….But remember it has no lacquer and will oxidize if not cared for….FEO1-7-1I love those non-lacquered horns.

Leave a comment